India has 28 states and seven territories, stretching from tropical islands to the highest mountain range in the world.

State boundaries and names are the subject of lively democratic debate, and international diplomacy. ¬†We followed the most common English spellings and names (circa 2010), and the official government maps. Whenever possible, we took the most diplomatic route: for example the trees of Chandigarh (the capital of two States) are marked as belonging to “Haryana and Punjab.”

All states that were open to foreign travel on a research visa were visited. You can learn about the route taken on the ground at the Journeys page.

This excluded Sikkim, Manipur, Tripura, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Arunachal Pradesh. We encourage and invite you to help continue the Landmark Trees project by meeting and documenting the trees of these states.

At the time of the Landmark Trees of India project, the following states were visited, and the following numbers of trees recorded:

(You can learn more about each place and species by using the navigation sidebars, or by using the search boxes on the site)

Total number of trees landmarked for each state visited

Andhra Pradesh 27
Assam 24
Bihar 7
Chhattisgarh 17
Delhi NCR 67
Goa 15
Gujarat 30
Haryana 3
Haryana and Punjab 10
Himachal Pradesh 47
Jammu and Kashmir 31
Jharkhand 10
Karnataka 88
Kerala 115
Madhya Pradesh 44
Maharashtra 67
Meghalaya 31
Orissa 31
Punjab 19
Rajasthan 47
Tamil Nadu 97
Uttar Pradesh 42
Uttarakhand 41
West Bengal 52
Grand Total 962