The Earth’s biodiversity is organised in a conceptual tree of nested categories. One level of these categories is that of Family. Contained within each family are multiple genera, and within each genus, a single species.

Each tree was assigned a species binomial, which also determined which plant family it was contained in. You can learn more about the species concept at the Species page.

You can explore a selection of the trees representing plant families we found most interesting:

Bombaceae Family (Semal or baobab)

Sapindaceae Family (Litchi)

Araucariaceae Family (Monkey Puzzle)

Meliaceae Family (Neem or mahagony)

Malvaceae Family(Cotton or hibiscus)

Pinaceae Family (Pine)

Arecaceae Family (Palm)

Laxmanniaceae Family (Club Palm)

Lecythidaceae Family (Barringtonia)

Cupressaceae Family (Cypress)

Ruscaceae Family (Dragon Tree)

Elaeocarpaceae Family (Elaeocarpus)

Myrtaceae Family (Jamun or Eucalyptus)

Gingkoaceae Family (Gingko)

Meliaceae Family (Neem or mahagony)

Bignoniaceae Family (Jacaranda)

Magnoliaceae Family (Magnolia)

Cactaceae Family (Cactus)

Platanaceae Family (Plane Tree or Sycamore)

Rosaceae Family (Rose or apple or cherry)


Dipterocarpaceae Family (Dipterocarp)

Verbenaceae Family (Teak)

Rhamnaceae Family (Ber)

Fabaceae Family (Pea family)


Moraceae Family (Mulberry or fig)

Landmark Trees of India